Digital Christians

Have you ever thought of the term “Digital Christian?” I hadn’t until recently. I’ve heard and used the term “Digital Natives;” referring to the rising generation of young people who have never known a world without the internet, or even instant electronic communication technology with mobile phones. Many in our church and around the world are exploring what it means to be a Christian in the digital arena.

The Senior High campers in Montana at Camp Marshall explored this idea last summer. I encourage you to read about their effort and take time to view the video. It’s powerful and hopeful and amazing. They are making an impact as evangelists using art and creativity and digital technology. Thanks be to God for the adults and visionaries digging deep with them as they are formed. May we all be transformed as we partner across generations in creative ways to bring Christ’s message of love, hope, and healing into the world.

Faithfully,

Bronwyn

“Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing,” a music video (videosong) performed and produced by campers and staff of Camp Marshall Episcopal, senior high camp 2011.

Inspired by captivating and compelling music/video projects such as those by ‘Playing for Change’ and ‘Pomplamoose,’ this “Come Thou Fount’ project is the second videosong from the new and groundbreaking (read: breaking ground) Media Arts Center at Camp Marshall. While developing this piece in our wonderful, woodsy outdoor environment, under the tabernacle of the stars, we utilized the Media Center to listen to many versions of this song for inspiration, including interpretations by Sufjan Stevens, David Crowder Band, Chris Rice, Jars of Clay, and an especially unique rendition from Jadon Lavik. Don’t forget the Mormon Tabernacle Choir! Every artist’s acute perspective as amazing as the last!

The camp launched a pilot media arts program in June, 2011. The idea was to explore what it means to be 21st century Christians, people who are active and fluent in the digitally-connected existence in the midst of which we find ourselves, yet who are connected deeply to one another and to Christ.

The technical qualification for a videosong, as originally offered by Pomplamoose:
VideoSong, a music video medium with 2 rules:
1. What you see is what you hear (no lip-syncing for instruments or voice).
2. If you hear it, at some point you see it (no hidden sounds).

Don’t forget to watch in HD!

Note from the Director:
Okay, so, moment of transparency — this videosong does not follow the rules exclusively; it cannot be officially qualified with other legit videosongs. But it’s close. We decided to compromise the technical qualification in order to maximize the impact of the experience. Next year though…

This inconsistency, however, can be an opportunity to invite you or any curious viewer to participate in this project: Can anybody point out the places where this video breaks the rules? Some are more obvious than others….

Also for the record, my personal favorite version to listen to (right now) is the Sufjan Stevens one. Sufjan makes it so gentle, so good. Unlike this videosong you’re watching, our “Come Thou Fount: Unplugged” video possesses this same kind of quiet and intimate energy as Sufjan’s.

Thanks to God whose gifts of life-giving energy have made it possible for me to be a part of something like this. And thanks to Dave Campbell for all the support!

-Andrew

Lyrics we used:
Come thou fount of every blessing
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace
Streams of mercy never ceasing
Call for songs of loudest praise
Teach me some melodious sonnet
Sung by flaming tongues above
Praise his name, I’m fixed upon it
Name of Thy redeeming love

Here I raise my Ebenezer
Hither by Thy help I come
And I hope by Thy good pleasure
Safely to arrive at home
Prone to wander Lord I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love
Here’s my heart oh take and seal it
Seal it for Thy courts above

Hither to Thy love has blessed me
Thou hast brought me to this place
And I know Thy hand will bring me
Safely home by Thy good grace
Jesus sought me when a stranger
Wondering from the fold of God
He to rescue me from danger
Bought me with His precious blood

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let thy goodness like a fetter
Bind my wandering heart to Thee
Prone to wander Lord I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love
Here’s my heart Lord, take and seal it
Seal it for Thy courts above

The views, opinions, or positions expressed by those providing comments are theirs alone, and do not necessarily reflect the views, opinions, or positions of the Episcopal Diocese of Montana or any employee thereof.
Any advertisements, suggested videos, or links to external Web Sites should not be construed as an endorsement by the Episcopal Diocese of Montana.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Lifelong Formation, Young Adults, Youth

One response to “Digital Christians

  1. Valerie H

    I so love this song, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

